Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here News > 2011

News and events


Prizewinners for the Best Demonstrator for the Junior Freshman Physical Chemistry Class 2011


Congratulations to Simon Curran and Finn Purcell-Milton, who were jointly awarded the prize for the Best Demonstrator to the Junior Freshman Physical Chemistry Class for 2011. The award is based on the assessment of the undergraduate students and of the staff members in charge of the classes and recognises the efforts of School of Chemistry graduate students to deliver high quality laboratory instruction.

From left: Simon Curran and Finn Purcell-Milton


The Inaugural Dorgan Postgraduate Prize


The inaugural Dorgan Postgraduate Prize was presented to Robin Daly by Professor David Phillips, President of The Royal Society of Chemistry, on November 17th last.

From left: Robin Daly, David Phillips, Marie Dorgan and Alan Dorgan



The Inaugural Cocker Lecture

The inaugural Cocker Lecture in Chemistry was delivered by Professor David Phillips, President of The Royal Society of Chemistry, on November 17th last

Prof. David Phillips
"Professor David Phillips and friend"

"Three generations of the Cocker family with the speaker
From L-R: Kirsty Moore (grand-daughter), Hannah Moore (great-grand-daughter), David Phillips, Katharyn Given (daughter) and Ian Given (grandson)"


Dr. Bob Baker - Editor of Irish Chemical News

"Dr Bob Baker, Assistant Professor in Inorganic & Synthetic Materials Chemistry, has recently taken over the position of Editor of Irish Chemical News, He can be contacted at"

Special themed issue of Dalton Transactions on
Self-assembly in Inorganic Chemistry” edited by Prof. Gunnlaugsson and Kruger



The latest issue of the Royal Society of Chemistry journal Dalton Transaction was dedicated to the theme of Self-assembly in Inorganic Chemistry and was guest edited by Professor Gunnlaugsson, a Chair in Chemistry within the School of Chemistry, TCD, and by a former member of the School, and now a Professor at the Department of Chemistry at Canterbury University, Professor Paul E. Kruger.  The issue highlights the rapidly growing field of using metal and anions to direct the synthesis of complexed molecular structures such as supramolecular self-assemblies, MOFs and coordination polymers. With over 50 articles, the issue consists of perspective, communication and full articles with some of the leading figures in the field, as well as many up-and-coming researchers, contributing to this themed issue.  The issue can be found on:!issueid=dt040045&type=current&issnprint=1477-9226


Science Foundation Ireland "Image of the Year"  Award


Congratulations to Dr. David McGovern and Professor John Boland, both from the School of Chemistry, who have won the Science Foundation Ireland "Image of the Year"  award

2011 ACSIN Nanoscience Prize - Prof. John Boland

Professor John Boland wins the 2011 ACSIN Nanoscience Prize. The photograph shows Professor Boland, a member of staff of the School, and Director of CRANN, being presented with this prestigious Prize at a recent ceremony at St. Petersburg, Russia. The Prize was awarded for his work on the development of scanning probe microscopy and spectroscopy, tools that permit an advanced understanding of the structures of materials


Prestigious ERC Award

Dr. Carola Schulzke


Dr. Carola Schulzke, Assistant Professor in Inorganic Chemistry, has recently been awarded a valuable and highly prestigious ERC Starting Grant. Her project is entitled "Synthesis of mono-dithiolene molybdenum complexes and their evaluation as potential drugs for the treatment of human isolated sulfite oxidase deficiency".

This brings to two the number of ERC awards currently held within the School of Chemistry.

Top 5 OBC News
High-Impact Research get recognised


A TCD research team form the School of Chemistry, has one of the top 5 most cited papers in the chemistry journal: Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry in the last 5 years. The publication from the research group of Professor Thorri Gunnlaugsson, who regularly publishes in this journal, focused on the development of fluorescent sensors for anions and was chosen by the OBC Editorial Office for a collection of the most cited papers in the last 5 years. The journal which celebrates its 10th year anniversary in 2012 has these top 5 articles currently as free to access on:


1st prize for best Poster Presentation at the
Universities Chemistry Research Colloquium


Paul Duffy

Congratulations to PhD student Paul Duffy (Colavita group) on winning 1st prize for best Poster Presentation at the 63rd Irish Universities Chemistry Research Colloquium on June 24, 2011!!! Paul presented his work on new materials for environmental remediation, which is sponsored by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA Ireland). Here is Paul receiving his award from Dr. Wilhelm Risse (Chemistry, UCD).

SFI - Grants awarded to principal investigators


School of Chemistry staff (from left) Georg Duesberg, Sylvia Draper and Mike Lyons, photographed after the announcement on June 16th of the award to each of them of Science Foundation Ireland Principal Investigator grants. Also the recipient of a grant, but not in the photograph, is Thorri Gunnlaugsson

SFA Grants Awarded



"Congratulations to Daniel O'Donovan (Rozas group) for his success in winning a major prize
in the HEA/II "Making an Impact" competition"

Daniel O'Donovan

From left to right: John Hennessy (HEA), Dermot Donnelly, Kevin Myers (MC at the final), Daniel O’Donovan, Geoff Lyons (Irish Independent)

More details